Why Tank?

That’s a really good question, and I don’t know if I can really answer that, as I can only assume that there are as many reasons for tanking as there are tanks. And now that I’ve given you the most generic answer possible I’m going to tell you why I personally made the jump, seeing as I’m still addicted to beating things with sticks.

One of the reasons for my switch is because I got tired of being asked to do something that I had no experience and the wrong spec for. Thankfully this seems to be slowly changing, at least in the end game, but it wasn’t uncommon for me to be asked to tank, and then given incredibly rude responses when I tried to explain that I didn’t even own a shield.

Another reason is that I’m impatient, and I don’t want to spend a ton of time looking for a group, and tanks always seem to be in a shortage while it’s not that easy to find work as a retadin. Hell, some times it’s still hard even when you’re a classic DPS like a Warlock or a Hunter.

That’s not really a very sound reason for switching from PewPewing, but that’s why I’m trying to make the jump. I’m sure there are people out there who’ll tell you and me that it isn’t a very good reason to start tanking, but I think a lot of people first learn to tank for similar reasons. I know there are born tanks, and God bless them, but I don’t think I’ve ever met one.

I guess there is another reason, if I’m willing to admit it to myself. I love being in the center of things, especially when I can do a bit of leading. I don’t have the mentality for day-in, day-out leading, but I do love to be in charge of things for short periods of time, and when you tank you often are the default leader of the group.

So, I guess my reasons all boil down to me being impatient and having a huge ego. Maybe I was really a born tank in denial 😉

2 Responses to Why Tank?

  1. bremere says:

    I was in a similar situation, except I was a druid, and wanted to tank, but was always asked to heal. Or when I would tank, I’d be stuck with an incompetent healer. So I rolled a priest, and went from there. I’ve done some tanking in WoW, but I’m curious to see your take on it all

    -Bremere

  2. Mae says:

    It’s great that you enjoy tanking. It’s something I could never do. I have a warrior who’s level 61 that will never see level 70. She was my first character, way, way back when level 60 was it. I learned then that I don’t have what it takes to be a tank. I’ve since leveled a pally, who I promptly gave to my husband in exchange for his hunter. Tanking is not for me, in any shape.

Leave a Reply

